Maximum pot size?

it's not mine

I bought a set of 15 gallon fabric pots for dirt cheap but I'm wondering if they're too big to grow our plants in. Is there a guide on the forum anywhere that addresses different pot sizes?

I'm using FFOF. I'll be feeding with Nector for the Gods using their schedule. If you're using fabric pots can you go a little bigger? My 15 gallon pots are probably wayyyyy too big. I may get some 7 gallon pots.

Indoor “water only” organic soil grower here. Not an expert- I’m a newbie too but I’ve absorbed a couple thousand pages here

On a photoperiod plant with long veg time, I find I’m running out of steam in flower in a 7 gallon air pot. On my next grow I will be using the big 16 gallon air pots.

If it’s an auto-flower plant - start them in the final pot so you don’t stunt her with a transplant.

However if you are growing photoperiod plants, they really benefit from being repotted or upcanned into larger pots. Start with 20 ounce cup. Get seedling going, when the plant is fully rootbound and leaves extend beyond edge of cup and she’s super healthy - upcan to a 1 gallon. Run the same steps again, get her rootbound & super healthy in the 1 gallon container for 3 to 4 weeks, you want her so so that she needs water every day. On the last upcan go to the biggest final container you’ve got 5 gallons is the minimum but 10 or 15 gallons would be better. At last upcan score the rootball lightly with a knife 3 or 4 times on the sides, this signals the plant to take over the new environment. Scoring the rootball is an old plant nursery trick and it works well

Always transplant from a position of strength, never transplant a weak plant. Never water a wet plant.

Here’s why - our plants build roots in veg cycle but once flipped to flower the root growth slows or stops, then the plant begins to use up those roots you’ve built to support the flower cycle. Bigger roots = bigger fruits.