Need advice for LEDs

Matto835

So this is my first time growing, I just bought a 1000w led tolys off amazon it comes with 3 settings for the stages of the plants lives, so I will be growing 5 autos of gorilla glue.

Question #1: will the one 1000w light be enough for 5 plants in a 5x5 grow tent?

Question #2: seeing as the lights have 3 settings for the stages of the plants life, how do I know when I change it to flowering settings? Should I do that when I see it just starting to flower or if I dont do it will it not start flowering until I do? Or do I just leave it on the first setting throughout the entire grow?

Sorry I know these questions seem stupid, but I am trying to wrap my head around everything quite intimidated to say the least.

Hiya @Matto835 , figure 30-50w per sq foot, your plants need about 4sq ft each...so you need about 250 watts spread over the whole area. That light doesn't really pull 1000w from the wall, I'd guess more like 130w so I'd say you need two minimum. There is better light available for sure, but that'll grow weed! CHeers mate, gl to your endeavor! :yahoo:

EDIT: Run it full bore all three settings all the way through.

It's all about yield. You'll get something, but nothing you'll be real happy with for the work involved. I would probably use that for 1 plant these days. You could eek out 2 but it would be tough. Check the specs on it and see if it tells you actual draw from the wall to make sure.

Most people are using white light/full spectrum boards referred to as "quantum boards"...its way easier on the eyes and stronger/more efficient. We have some great light sponsors here, they are very active and lots of times have discounts and contests of one sort or another going for us. I also watch the used market and get older technology like what you are running for pennies on the dollar. I don't mind the blurples and old LED tech is very relevant still.