Need Advice

fereetimo

Hi everyone, im new to 420 and im looking for some advice, this is my first time grow, and my plants are looking good im really pleased with them, so much better than I had hoped for the first time growing, my question is...some of the buds on the top of my plants are just great, they look like they are ready to harvest, with loads of crystals on them, but I have 10 plants in a 5x5x7 tent so some of the buds that are a bit further down the plants are small and are not quite getting the same light, didn't realise that there were too many plants in a small space, so can I cut off the top buds leaving the smaller ones below to get the chance of some light, will this damage the plant?? will the smaller lower down buds feel the benefit of this, or should I just harvest the whole plant. I would appreciate any feedback that you all could give me. Stay Happy And Stoned. :Namaste::thanks:
also how should it be dried and stored for longevity.

:welcome: to :420:

Yes - You can do a selective harvest. The lower, smaller buds probably won't get a lot larger but they will continue to mature while you trim, dry, cure the parts that are already finished. Depending on the size of your harvest, that can be a very good thing. My recent chop took over two weeks from cutting the tops off until I was done with the popcorn.

I have never done it on an indoor grow but I did do just that on my outdoor grow this year and it went fine. I have 12 girl chickens in my back yard which limited where I could plant my outdoor grow since they love to eat the leaves and buds. Well the best place to grow for them was not the best for me. They won, so I ended up where a lot of the plants lower branches were shaded, so come harvest time, I just took off what I felt was ready and then waited.
Now here is what I noticed, did the buds down lower get as dense as the buds up top? No. But the development of the trichomes were able to fully ripen before I cut them.