New Farmer

remraftop

Hi everyone i am new to the grow scene, basicly just wanting to get any feedback or helpful hints as possible.as of right now im using just a "basic" system. 1 light more coming asas as plant matures. My plants have been in soil for 5 days so far.they are starting to grow second set of leaves. How long should i wait before i black them out to start the flowering phase, ive heard around 10 to 12 inches. I will update info as plants grow. Also is it ok to use a Fertilizer mixed in withwater such as miracle grow etc without changing soil or should it be changed?

Hi remraftop,

Welcome to 420 magazine and the community of members that gathers here. :welcome: I hope you find the site as beneficial and the community as welcoming and generous in time and spirit as have I! I know you will find a wealth of information on the site as you explore it. Would like to suggest you visit the tab at the top of the screen labeled "Grow Room" and specifically the "How to grow Marijuana" sub-group. I think you will also find the "search" feature located under the "Forums" tab to be indispenable.

Congratulations on starting your grow. I think as you explore the site a little most of your questions will be answered, but I'll take a stab at the basics to help you get started. In deciding how big your plants should be before inducing flowering, you should evaluate a couple things. First consideration is how big do you wish the finished plant to be? Cannabis plants can double or even triple in size during the budding phase, so with that in mind look at your grow area to determine the optimal size.

Another consideration is lighting. You did not mention what type of lighting you are using. If you are using a High Intensity Discharge (HID) light or some other type of light that provides good light penetration into the plant canopy you may be able to grow a much larger plant than if using any type of fourescent.