New Grower looking for lighting advice

Miseria

Hey guys!

Noob here. Love this community!

I'm building a growroom in my basement and have a question on lights. I have framed out a 8x4 (7ft tall) area in my basement for the flower room. I plan on growing 6 plants to start but want room to ramp up to 8 or maybe 10 down the road once I get the hang of it.

Is 1 600 HPS good for the initial 6 plants? I figure I could another when I move up to 8. Or would 2 600 HPS be overkill for 8 plants? I have a lot of space in the basement and some available fresh air for ventilation.

Or would I be better off just going with 2 400W HPS and add a third later if needed.

Any advice would be mucho appreciated.

Yo Miseria welcome to :420:.com!!! It's awesome here.

It sounds like it'll be a cool setup. The higher wattage you go the more heat you'll have to deal with. The higher wattage will also light up more square footage. As a rule of thumb I go with the idea that 1000 watts is good for 5'X5' and a little bigger.
600 watts is good up to 4'X4'. Check out my 4x4 grow with a 600W HPS link in signature
So for 8'X4' I would think that a 600W lamp for each 4x4 area would be good
Remember to pair ballast and lamp types properly
If I could make your purchase I'd go with two Solis Tek 1000W matrix ballasts. They're awesome, dimmable and have built in timers (with wireless remote)! And you could use 600W now and upgrade later to 1000W! You can also use Metal Halide for veg and HPS for Bloom. I'd also purchase the Solis Tek lamps.

Calyx has got the hps covered, you might also want to consider LED. I went with a 400 watt hps and it easily covers a 3x2 area, but now I want an LED - a lot less heat. There is a lot of buzz about LED's going on around here right now.
:peace:

Awesome info, thanks for the reply! I haven't even started yet but already having a blast building the room (and attached veg room :) ).