New to shroom cultivation

MotaMan420

Hello to everyone -- I've been an inside and outside cannabis grower for quite some time and I am wanting to branch out. I am self taught in most of my growing skills but one can always learn more.

I am looking for the beginners book on cultivating mushrooms.. They provided a great relief while serving way back in 79 - and I'd like to get that high again.. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Happy Growing

MotaMan

What's happening @MotaMan420

Growing mushrooms is new to me also, but I have my first shroom farm going now. I bought some books on the subject just so when I do have a question, I can phase it proper with the right nomenclature. I will say this much, if you start to buy a couple books make sure they are for your area. One of the book I bought was for the west coast of the US, and I live on the east coast, but is you have any question feel free to ask away.

The best way to learn is to just do it.

Be safe, and grow well my friend,
Tok..

Let me ask you a question @MotaMan420... are you against getting a pressure cooker? Or are you just wanting to grow a few cakes that you can get away with steam sterilizing (I don't ever recommend not pressure cooking, but steaming does work, I would go 2hrs). In my opinion, the first thing you should buy is a cooker, it will pay for itself in No time, and has many more options to use it for other projects, cooking, canning, whatever you wish to play with. Personally, I bought a cooker and went straight to bird seed back in the day, I currently use Oats and Milo, and Rye here and there if I find it cheap. Oats went up in price, so I went cheap Milo(the reddish seeds in WBS). If you don't care about price (I do too many projects not to care, I did over 100 edible blocks during peak covid early 2020) I would go with Rye, but at the end of the day, it doesn't matter, I've even done brown rice for experimental reasons.