Q: Regarding combining nutrients and the resulting cumulative strength of solution

TanR

Hi all,

First time indoor grower that has benefitted greatly from all the knowledge, experience and insights so generously shared on this site. As stated, I'm new to indoor growing, but not growing our beloved plant. I have searched all the forums and threads for a number of different key words and can’t seem to find anything that addresses my query.

My question is meant to be very general, not specific to any particular phase of growth, age or size of plant, or even a particular growing medium. I will provide a little insight, to help further define my question.

Since this is my first indoor growing endeavor, I chose some really good bag seed to be my test subjects. I am growing all organic in a good self-concocted heavily amended soil based medium. I confess that I have not invested in a “line” of nutrients, but have instead chosen to utilize some products I either had on hand or could purchase locally. When I feed my plants, I do so by adding the nutrients into the water at least a day or two in advance of their next feeding/watering with a bubbler stone in the bottom of the bucket.

With that background providing context for my question; Do nutrients, when combined, have a “cumulative” result?

As an example, say I add fish emulsion that is labeled 5-1-1, then I add another organic fert that is labeled 4-3-3, do I end up with a concoction that is 9-4-4? Obviously, the amounts added would factor in, but in answering please assume I am adding in equal parts or at levels equal to the instructions to achieve the desired results. I also recognize that the resulting “strength” of the brew would be effected by the water and its ability to deliver those nutrients and I am aware that the analysis provided on a label represents only the "minimum" amounts of each nutrient.