Tips on taking better macro photos for cannabis?

weedsmokerca

420 Member
I recently purchased a a nikon z5 with a 105mm f/2.8 macro lens. I am still pretty new to photography. I was told this camera and lens was the combo to get for my needs.

I bought this camera and lens specifically to take high quality cannabis bud shots. The problem I'm having is when I'm trying to take up close macro shots of the trichomes of the buds. Whenever I try to have the camera up close to the bud it would not focus. I would need to move the camera back until it focuses. When I do that and take a series of photos and then focus stack them, the trichomes still isn't very clear. Am I doing something wrong?

What apeture should i be setting it at? Should I get extension tubes? I heard this would help with the focusing problem.

These are some of the photos i would like to take..

The 2 bud shots are the ones i took..That is the closest i can get to the bud before it won't focus.

Ace-Killer-OG-Strain-Macro.jpg

Black-Gas-Macro.jpg

km macro (1).jpg

td macro 1 (1).jpg

I recently purchased a a nikon z5 with a 105mm f/2.8 macro lens. I am still pretty new to photography. I was told this camera and lens was the combo to get for my needs.

I bought this camera and lens specifically to take high quality cannabis bud shots. The problem I'm having is when I'm trying to take up close macro shots of the trichomes of the buds. Whenever I try to have the camera up close to the bud it would not focus. I would need to move the camera back until it focuses. When I do that and take a series of photos and then focus stack them, the trichomes still isn't very clear. Am I doing something wrong?

What apeture should i be setting it at? Should I get extension tubes? I heard this would help with the focusing problem.

These are some of the photos i would like to take..

The 2 bud shots are the ones i took..That is the closest i can get to the bud before it won't focus.
Greetings @weedsmokerca !