Tying plants down: outdoor grow

Jmkhet

420 Member
I have some plants growing between 2 and all the way up to 5ft. Most are in the ground with the exception of 2 I havent transplanted as of yet....Death star and Thor.

Basically I'm curious as to how I'm supposed to tie down these plants for maximum yield as I've never done it before?

Attachments

• 20200711_103610.jpg
    20200711_103610.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 91
  • 20200709_164352.jpg
    20200709_164352.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 90
  • 1593388388281.jpg
    1593388388281.jpg
    975.9 KB · Views: 92
  • 1593388409827.jpg
    1593388409827.jpg
    988.3 KB · Views: 96
  • 1593388468257.jpg
    1593388468257.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 93
  • 1593388455223.jpg
    1593388455223.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 93
About like you would indoors, I suppose. Get the top of the plant below some of the lower portions, and the plant will redistribute the auxins (aka "plant hormones") that govern "top" behavior, thereby causing those formerly lower portions of the plant to act like tops, grow more, branch out, etc.

If there's nothing nearby to tie things to, just pound something into the ground. If you want to get fancy, do a web search for "auger tent stakes." Otherwise, lots of things will work. You can saw a 6' tomato stake into two or three pieces, point the ends (to make it easier to pound the things into the ground), cut a groove around them (to discourage the cord/twine/rope/etc. from slipping off) near the upper ends,, and use those. Pound them in so that they point away from the plant you're going to tie to them. Brush up on your knotwork, so you can adjust things occasionally.

jmkhet,