Baby Ladybugs?

greenjeans

Geez - I feel kinda bad - I've been squishing these guys and at the same time wishing I had more Ladybugs!!!! I decided to leave them alone because I didn't see that they were causing any problems and finally thought to do some googling - I'm pretty sure that they are baby Ladybugs and all of a sudden I have way more Ladybugs - still lots of aphids but ever bit helps!!
ladybug.jpg

Hey GreenJeans! Not sure what that is.... but that’s not a ladybug. That is of the caterpillar or moth family, and will chew on your leaves, hump with another and lay eggs all over the underside of your leaves. Or if the plant is in flower - it will chew into your buds and lay eggs there.

Is she in flower? - If so you may want to inspect the buds closely - look for any holes or gray patches over the next few weeks. I’m just a newbie here but that bugger would be dead if found in my garden

Hey GreenJeans! Not sure what that is.... but that’s not a ladybug. That is of the caterpillar family, and the only thing that’s going to do is chew on your leaves, hump with another and plaster eggs all over the underside of your leaves.
I had to look too, but it is! And they eat all things bad, just like their parents. They vary from this guy to very spiky and much more orange.
F38544AD-23BA-4A58-963C-C6007BB4E3A6.jpeg

that’s not a ladybug
Are you sure?? - They say that baby ladybugs look like small alligators and I have watched these guys pretty close and they slowly morph into the ladybug shape and they don't seem to eat the plant - I should capture one and watch what happens!!

No shit seriously - ok! I’m totally ok with being wrong. Hehe that bugger looks nothing like a lady bug but yeah I guess it morphs into one as it builds that protective shell & wings.