Jay Bird

Hi guys and gals,

so I have currently just made my own potting mix as I wanted to make a big amount for the tent and the garden for this years crops.

my problem is with ph

I made the mix with compost, perlite, a bit of coco and peat and added dolomite lime.

when I tested the soil the ph was at 6.0
I left the soil for a few days as I know it takes a few days for the dolomite to bring the ph up. I have not planted yet in this soil.

anyway I tested it today and it has risen to 6.9 ph.

I know in soil an acceptable ph range is 6.0 to 7.0.

should I be worried about the ph being quite high and amend before I plant or is this okay.

I normally ph at 6.3 (water) and thought this could be a good thing to allow the soil to adjust the water once it’s in the medium.

im quite new to this side of mixing up your own stuff but I have always been very interested in making my own, I just need to learn more and practice these techniques more.

so any help is really appreciated, and constructive criticism would really help me at this point as I do not want to plant if this may be a problem. I would prefer to just put in a days work and get the soil re mixed again

thanks people.

How are you testing the soil ph?

The proper way to test soil ph is by doing a slurry test using distilled water. Generally speaking a new soil mix needs to be placed in a drum or tote tub, watered in and allowed to cook for 30 days, more cook time (90 days) is required for a heavily amended supersoil or living organic soil. I’m just a newbie myself but probably need @bobrown14 to jump in

Hi thanks for the reply - I do the slurry test with de-ionised water. It’s suppose to be an organic light mix similar to other light mixes on the market. It’s not really a super soil as such. The organic amendments were only the compost and worm casts.

Well I did the de ionised slurry test -