Hello

QueenTokelove

Well this is my second attempt at posting here, wiped the first one out by accident...Just wanted to say hello. Did a lot of reading on this site before deciding to join.....

This is my first attempt at growing but decided to do it for several reasons. I need it medicinally,tired of paying the salesman, and needed a new hobby besides gaming. So why not do something I love, right?

I have started on 7/11/11 with 6 plants. So about now I am about 5 weeks into it. I have noticed that out of the 6 plants, 3 are girls, 2 not sure yet and 1 is a male. I have moved the male away from the girls but don't want to destroy him so I figure I will let him live to see how far he goes. I am using my closet to grow in with 3 cpl lights, not sure if I need more if those are enough.

I am using generic organic soil because I have read different opinions on using Miracle Gro, some say it's ok to use and others say it is not. I am using seeds that I have saved from the salesman. I figured since it is my first time to use those. The salesman had pretty good smoke. Also that it is not a good idea to have seeds sent to where I am growing. So as much as I would like to have the best seeds, I value my freedom a little bit more. If there is a way around that, please let me know.

I am trying to get the right food for my plants but I am a bit strapped for money and on a limited income. So, I was wondering what can I use for the time being til I can get the good stuff. While researching I have seen people mention using coffee grounds, egg shells, and epsom salt. Should these things be mixed together or in individual containers? At the moment, I am just using egg shells in water though my plants do have egg shells in the dirt as well as on top of the dirt. I did mix some used coffee grounds in water to make a kind of tea but has been scared to give it to my babies.