Help Diagnosing my plant!

Medusa678

I'm new to growing and my plant seems to be doing great besides a few things. The top leaves are huge and very green, but are doing the 90 degree clawing thing which makes me think it's getting too much nitrogen. But, the bottom leaves are turning yellow, shriveling up and falling off which makes me think nitrogen deficiency. I'm using Dyna Gro Foliage pro 9-3-6 about half a table to a gallon of water, which I water it with about 3 times a week. The other days I give it Palin spring water. I'm using an organic soil I got at Wal-Mart, no perlite (which I know I should have) and a light that my uncle gave me that he says he grows with, and I'm not sure of the wattage. What am I doing wrong and what should I change??

Re: Help Diagnosing my plant!!

High Medusa678

Sounds to me like you're over-feeding, over-watering and the light isn't reaching the bottom leaves so they are dying off.

The bottom leaves are no big deal if most of the top of the plant is lush and green as a lot of growers remove most of the lower growth on larger indoor plants anyway. Your ferts aren't a bad ratio but if that's all the plant gets to eat it's likely not getting a decent diet. Like eating at Mickey-Dees only.

More info would help like how big is this plant? Figure out what the light is and report back. And a decent picture would be a big help.

And no perlite? You naughty, naughty boy. :)

L8r

How often should i water it with the fertilizer and how often with plain water? and hers some pictures
DSCF1489_1_.JPG
DSCF1487_1_.JPG
DSCF1485_1_.JPG
DSCF1481_1_.JPG

Considering that poor lighting that plant don't look so horrible. What you have there is the bare minimum to grow a plant and you're not doing all that bad. I don't see any signs of nute burn or leaf deformation in the top growth so like most nOObs you're freakin out a bit. We were all nOObs once. :)