Holding the smoke in = no effect?

Judas

Hey there.

I'm sitting here watching a documentary about weed... Once again.

And they just stated that holding your breath with smoke in your lungs DOESNT give an extra effect on the high.

They did say that the only effect for doing that is that something about tar and lungs and bad things.

So the questions stands:

Do one get a longer lasting or more intense high by keeping the smoke in the lungs for a extended period of time?

I've been smoking for about 14 years now, and can say that it all depends on how you smoke.

Vaporiser - not real difference since you are taking in concentrated levels anyway

Joint - no difference at all, I assume thats cause half the shit is burnt off anyway - not my preferred method

Hits from a bong :) - most damn definitely hold that hit in!!!!

It does't make sense that there would not be an increased level of absorption by keeping the smoke in contact with the lung tissue longer.

Personally, I only hold it for a few seconds either with a bong or vaporizer. I just don't like coughing my ass off which often happens when you try to hold in a big hit, especially with vapor!

Since I grow my own herb, I've got plenty, so no sense messing up my lungs to stretch out a bowl. ;)

Sent from my iPod touch using Forum Runner

When I was younger and more ignorant (about 30 years ago), I thought holding it in increased effects. I am particular about taste and now I enjoy it like a good pipe tobacco except I do inhale gently and exhale gently and completely. Savor the smoke and don't overdo it. There's no reason for me to. I don't care for bongs, water pipes, etc. I prefer joints and pipes. Chillums are a great way to appreciate flavor too.