led or double ended hps?

NewBoy420

i have been trying to get some input on this. i was planing to use a mars2 1600 in a 4x4x6 tent. i heard about some heat issues. since they are not air cooled. then i was thinking to use 1000 watt solis tek light. any one had any experience with any of the lights? what do you guys recommend.

Hey buddy yea but I as I was told the mars2 is not how do I say it like hooked up to the vent like a air cooled hood. Its made to remove the heat out the grow tent. And the mars2 has fans but they expell the heat into the tent. I guess what im trying to get at is is easy to keep the temps down if you use a mars2. Im new to this so if this is a dumb question in apologize

Ahh ok I gotcha.

I'm using a Mars Hydro Old Model 100x3, My grow closet is about 3'x2' or 90cmx60cm. Temps never go over 81F/27C

To keep the temps down, all you really need is an exhaust fan, which you should have anyways to blow out the old air, and draw fresh air in.

And nah bud, it's not a dumb question, everyone started out in the same place learning how to grow.

You can absolutely use more than one type of lighting. I've seen people using LED on top with more LED on the side, some use fluorescent lights on the side, and some use HIDs on top, with LEDs or Fluorescent on the side. It's really just up to you, and how many lights your tent can support.

In a 4x4, you could get away with using a Mars II 900w, but a Mars II 1200w would cover it a little better.

Now when you move into the reflector series, 2 96x3w would work just fine.
With the 144x3w you're covering a bit more than you need on two of the sides.
And the Reflector 192x3w would be a nice fit for that tent as well.