New to lights

ultra22

420 Member
Hi all
I am new to lights but I am also interested in using them. What I would like to know is in your opinion's what is the cheapest to run lights with the best results. The thing is I am a pensioner and money is at a premium. I would like to run a tent with around 4 plants any idea's?.

I run four plants in a 2 x 4 tent. Lights are a pay now, or pay the power company later deal. I'm using a King X6 Dimmable 1800W COB LED Grow Light, but have a DIY light under construction. You can see the results of my first grow using the King in my completed journal. Later grows were close to 1/2 lb from the 2 x 4 tent.

When looking at LED lighting, look at the power it draws from the wall, not the manufacturer's equivalency claims. You want about 30w / sq ft, of quality LEDs or COBs.

Thanks for that mate I will look into it. The thing is I don't even know what a COB stands for.
Sorry if I sound thick but trust me I need updating.

I don't even know what a COB stands for.

COB stands for 'Circuit On Board.' It's a number of individual LEDs mounted on a small circuit board by the manufacturer. The LEDs usually are of different wavelengths, and the whole assembly works together to provide the spectrum the manufacturer has determined will suit a purpose. There are two types we use, the 'blurple' without much of the green or yellow wavelengths, and white lights which are closer to the sun's spectrum.

Lighting is the single most expensive component of an indoor grow. We all agonized over our choices, and few of us would push you one way or another. If I had to do it again, I would go with one of King's X4s for every 4 sq ft of canopy, or build my own right off the bat.

It look's to me as though I have a lot of learning to do, thanks for your help I will look up King's x4s they sound good.
Out of curiosity what do you think is the best ready made tent kit you can buy?.