Pollen threat exaggerated?

Grandma Weedstein

So this is my first year growing but I was enthused enough to try my hand at half-assed breeding. I collected pollen from a male that I grew indoors, stored in a jar, brushed a generous amount onto outdoor colas and — results have been underwhelming.
The way people always talked about pollen, I figured these colas would be bursting with seed. They’ve got some, don’t get me wrong, but it’s hardly like they’ve overtaken the cola and made the bud unusable.
I wonder sometimes if all the concerns about slight amounts of leftover pollen in grow tent or whatever aren’t overblown. Even outdoor cross-pollination doesn’t seem like it would be that huge of a problem — sure the pollen can travel a long distance, but now I’m doubting there would be enough of it to really fuck up a plant.
That said, I am just a newbie and my experience might not be representative of what people have seen out there. So basically, I’m wondering what kind of experiences other people had with both voluntary and involuntary pollination and the factors that might have affected seed development...
I’m attaching a photo of some seeds I picked out of a cola the other day (had to chop it due to bud rot).
017E9F9F-EC73-4531-9480-5151243D6BE8.jpeg

Unfortunately pollen degrades fairly rapidly. You did pretty well for your first attempt. Fresh pollen is most potent
Yeah, I had a female in the tent with the indoor male and she actually did get totally overwhelmed with seed. Like, zero normal bud, just thin calyxes covering clusters of seeds.

I figured that was because they were forced together in such a cramped space, he kept releasing pollen non-stop, and her pistils were pollinated as soon as they appeared.