UpInSm0ke's HPA Super Bud Grow Journal 2022

UpInSm0ke

420 Member
Hi All
I am attempting HPA for the first time. It may be somewhat ambitious of me, but from everything I've read, HPA is the Holy Grail of indoor growing. I want to thank everyone who has posted a thread and/or contributed information to this forum. I have absorbed more information about growing than I ever knew was out there, and I have barely scratched the surface. I have many years to go and grow before I become proficient. With all of you helping, that task may one day be attainable.

My first attempt at hydroponics was using the General Hydroponics Rainforest 66 system. I read some good things about it, and as a noob, I got caught up in the hype. So, to any other noobs out there considering the General Hydroponics rainforest 66 system, don't. I thought it would be a perfect balance between aeroponics, as it claims to spray a fine mist, and DWC, as it sits in a 17 gallon reservoir. Truthfully, it's mostly just a DWC that sprays the roots with nutrients. It is a fine spray, but no where near "mist" quality. Also, the 17 gallon res is no where near big enough to accommodate 6 plants. I used it to grow 3 plants, and even at that, it wasn't big enough.

My next attempt was a RWDC. 4x18 gallon reservoirs with another 18 gallon reservoir outside my 4'x4'x7' tent. Fairly easy to do, using the LUCAS Formula with add-back. But, changing out the res every two weeks was a major pain!!! Toting what seemed like endless 5 gallon buckets to first drain the system, then refill the system was not my idea of a good time! I have a 50GPD ro system, so res changes need to be planned a few days in advance.