What size cabinet should I look for?

Highat33

420 Member
Hey everyone, I'm new to cannabis and now looking to grow my own with a DIY grow cabinet. Ideally I'd like to have the capacity to get 4-6oz per grow, but what size cabinet would I need for that kind of yield?

Hello Highat33, and welcome to 420 Magazine.
Are you set on a cabinet, or would you consider a grow tent?
I'm sure a cabinet large enough to obtain 4-6 ounces even for an experienced grower would be more costly than a cheap grow tent. Something to consider...

Hello Highat33, and welcome to 420 Magazine.
Are you set on a cabinet, or would you consider a grow tent?
I'm sure a cabinet large enough to obtain 4-6 ounces even for an experienced grower would be more costly than a cheap grow tent. Something to consider...

I'm certainly not dead set on it, but I was leaning towards to cabinet because it seemed like it might hold up on my patio better than a tent. As well as potentially insulate better for the upcoming winter.

Yeah depends how cold it gets there, as a cabinet will insulate better than a tent but not all that much more really, and cabinet's tend to hold the temps be it too hot or too cold unless you insulate them and lots of air changing. I ended up insulating my shed and grow in that, but my old cabinets stay warmer/colder than the shed actually by a few degrees (as I still use those for plants at younger stages than my shed space). First link in my Sig you can see what I started with and kind of where I ended up, just have to skim thru part of it but most of that is in the first few pages I think.

Oh, I see. You plan on having this outside your home? What is your climate like? Do you get below freezing at night during the winter time?

That's currently the idea. I work with fairly ignorant people who view cannabis in the same regard as meth.(Not kidding) So my biggest fear is having some flower permeate my home and make me smell like weed at work.