First time grow, thinking about SCROG

KBLS

Hello there,

I'm going to be attempting my first grow in a couple of days (I'm just waiting for my LED panel to arrive) and I'm seriously thinking about doing SCROG for maximum yield.

Is this only for the experienced grower? I mean, I 've been reading about growing for a month now and I think I know what to do. Would you advise me not to try it out? What are the things that could go wrong?

I will be growing in a tent, 0.76m x 0.76m x 1.80m in soil.

Thanks
:)

Doing a scrog is easy enough for a beginner. There is nothing particularly hard about it and the learning issues you have as a beginner will be there regardless, and separate from the fact that you're growing your plant in a scrog screen. Also- you don't have to worry quite yet about the scrog. The first step in that direction will be topping the plant when it get a bit older, and learning how to train it so it spreads out flat and wide. The screen comes later. I'm no expert but let me know if there's anything I can help you with

I have done a lot of scrog growing. In fact, it is the only way (IMHO) to grow indoors. I have three tables, each 4 x 8 with two 600 watt and one 4 tube VHO T5 light on each table. I note that the 600 watt lights are rated at 3.5 square feet coverage. That's ok for the width part of the table, but not the length. I noticed that the bud sites in between the lights were weak and produced fluffy buds, so I put the T5's up in between and I get outstanding results. I imagine it would work with LED too - but prolly not as well for the width... if ya know what I mean.

The last run I did was with C99 Cindy (LOVE that genetic) and harvested a little over 9 lbs from the three tables. I measured and weighed carefully, and this is trimmed and cured and ready for patients and it came out at exactly 3914 grams. That is about 1.1 gram per watt.