40 plant hydro setup for less than £500?

TheBaron95

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and going to do a 40 plant hydro crop.

My question is can I buy all the equipment needed for a 40 plant hydro setup for £500 or less? If so can anyone recommend any set ups, brands, prices and where to get etc.

Don't know which type of hydro system to use yet so going to go with the cheapest and easiest?

Using a room or two not tents.

Cheers

It will be really tight but I don't see why not. 1000w switchable hps/mh. 150. filter fan 250, build a table and a res 60, pump 10, nutes the rest.... pretty tight. If you can double your budget youll get a better result and wont be freaking out halfway through.

Agreed with J1. I think you'd be better off at 1,500 or even 2,500 with that many plants, but I think you could probably skimp your way around enough that after your first, grow you could upgrade. I would start with environment first.

J1 laid out the basic materials you'll need pretty well. I would definitely suggest going DIY with the table and res. All you'll have to buy is a hole saw bit and some water proof drain/fill fittings and that will cost you nothing compared to buying the plastic bin and table from a hydro shop. If you didn't want to buy a pump, you could run coco and hand water for your first cycle or two. Nothing wrong with hand watering if you have the time. As for the nutrients, you won't have the option to be picky, but there are some cheap and decent lines of hydro nutes out there like advanced nutrients or several of the GH lines. For the basic start up pack, the nutes will probably run you about 100 pounds if you get a bloom booster and calmag.
-

yeah will defo have a bigger budget for the second one. How big should the plastic bin and table be, how many litres? and how many will I need for 40 plants?

I have seen people doing loads of little ones but I would like decent space for each plant.

Cheers