AACT (actively aerated compost tea)

dimitri

Hi Guys

I'm a landscaper, and am new to compost tea (have learned a lot on this forum) ... I specialize in hardy tropical/exotic style here in the UK (palms/ferns/T-Rex, etc), aswell as the older cottage style perrenials/shrubs

I have recently bought an airpump, heater, bucket and have brewed a few brews of compost tea for general garden purposes, but am still learning, so any comments and advice will be greatly appreciated

herewith 2 recipes that I will be using ... (1st one is for general garden plants during spring and summer and will be added once a month via drenching aswell as applied on the leaves via waterbucket....

2nd recipe is for lawns and will be added via foliar spray once a month)....

I currently use pond water as we have 3 large ponds in my village that are teeming with life/fish .... the water is groundfed (there are no streams/rivers that feed the ponds) ... I have not tested the ph though, but will do so shortly

recipes are for 5 gallon batches (25 litres), and I set the heater temp at 20 degrees C, and have a 150mm circular airstone on the bottom of the bucket, and a 150mm long cylindrical airstone in the bucket .... I brew for 24 hrs, then add the nutrients at the end just before using the tea

recipe 1 for all plants/shrubs in the garden)

heat and aerate the pond water overnight, then add the following after 12 hrs:

2 heaped tablespoons of black strap unsulphered molasses (organic)

2 cups of worm humis

1 cup of homemade well rotted compost

1 cup of forest topsoil

1 cup of normal garden topsoil (from my own garden)

1/2 cup of volcanic rock dust (available from B&Q)

I brew this for 24 hrs at 20 degrees C, then add the following (doses are what is recommended on the labels on the bottles)

Biobizz Fish mix

plant magic oldtimer grow

maxicorp seaweed extract

root juice

bio silicon

biowetter (yucca extract)