Fresh Start - 1st Grow - 1 Plant - Early Vixen - 150 Watt HPS

BillyBud420

Hey all!

I had a journal basically planning my first grow, but I changed my whole setup and strain so am starting fresh here!

I'm brand new to this, so enjoy the carnage!

Here are the details!

I am growing in a small Mammoth tent. (These guys once made the secret jardine line, so it is basically the same.) Here's a pic.
image34707.jpg

I am running a 6" duct fan for ventilation....160 cfm

image34712.jpg
image34711.jpg

...and a 150 watt "Sunsystem" HPS light.

image34713.jpg

The strain is Early Vixen from Crop King and the nutrients will be Botanicare PBP. I'll be growing in Promix HP.

I am planning on using RO water.

I also grabbed this PH meter and calibration fluid:

image34710.jpg

Seed is germinating right now! Just waiting for the tap root, then I'm in business!

Thanks for reading!

Billybud420

As I wait for my seed to germinate, I did some temperature tests. Below are the temperatures at various distances from my HPS light...

12 inches away - 33.5 C / 92 F
16 inches away - 31.5 C / 89 F
24 inches away - 30.0 C / 86 F

Are these numbers a problem?

Any thoughts? I could put a small fan in the tent, pointed at the light / plants to try to cool them....I could add another duct fan on the input port of the tent...

Any advice would be appreciated!

Hello again all!

I solved my temperature problems for the most part. By adding a fan and directing it up at the light, I am getting temps of 84 (29c) at 6 INCHES from the light! Much better...

My room is getting down to 60 (16 c) when the lights are off which is a bit of a worry... Any thoughts on this?

Anyway, today was planting day!

1 day in a glass of water and 3 days in damp paper towel and I woke up to this!
image34796.jpg

I gave my pot a good watering and then planted the seed about a half inch deep. I have the lights running to keep everything warm and will start my 18 / 6 cycle tonight!

Thanks for reading!

Day 5!