Plants showing a combination of different symptoms

d42zero

Hi,

I've got three plants going which have all developed some unhealthy symptoms but they're all pointing towards different things. I'm a very very novice grower (this is my first time around) so any info I put here is only going of stuff I've read, and the main source of info so far has been the 'Grow Weed Easy' site.

I have begun to 'manifold' the plants as per the instructions on the GWE site, mainly because I grow basil in the summer and I do a similar thing with it so it's the technique that felt familiar. The first step is to top the plant just above the 3rd node, and remove the 1st and 2nd nodes so only the 3rd+fan leaves are left. I did this five days ago on plant #2, and two days ago on plant #1 and #3. I waited to do #1 and #3 so I would have a little lead time for correction if #2 started showing signs of distress.

Plant #1 is showing brown spots on the leaves consistent with online photos of a manganese deficiency, and the leaves are drooping a bit:
ESaw2Rz.jpg

Plant #2 is showing similar spots, but the leaves are curling up consistent with online photos of heat stress:
9og6yFT.jpg

Plant #3 is actually looking pretty damn sexy but is starting to develop the same brown spots:
KNN8In5.jpg

These symptoms all showed up over the past 24 hours, all plants looked extremely healthy this time yesterday. I did change my nutrient ratios quite significantly after buying an EC pen (about three days ago), I significantly reduced my cal-mag as my tap water read very high (141ppm) and I almost doubled the nutrients as the first mix at my previous ratios only came to about 400ppm and I was aiming for 600, but after some testing it seems my EC pen is wildly inaccurate so I may have a bad mix.

The light is a 315W LEC approximately 18" (450mm) from the top of the plants. The clones are at the bottom of the tent and off to the side, so would be at least 2ft (600mm) away.