Researching for a blog post

John Siam

420 Member
Greetings! This might sound odd but I'm looking around here to research for a blog post, to compare plant breeding and strain changes between marijuana and tea plants. You might think "why?"

I've been writing a blog about tea for two years and I keep coming back to subjects about plant types, origins and cultivars. I recently read an article on marijuana plant types, the history of different strains, and it occurred to me that people doing work on this have more experience with selective breeding and those aspects of horticulture than anyone I'm going to be able to contact related to tea. If I could find the right person they could provide some great input, and pass on knowledge that people in my field (hobby scope, as it were) just weren't going to get around to learning.

I was hoping to get input from one person, I just don't expect it to be easy to find that right person. I could clarify that more but basically I'd just like answers to a few detailed questions, which will really take some background to explain first. I can share all that here if it's of interest, but again I think I just need help from the right person.

This might be a good place to add some background. I don't do work related to tea, I don't sell it, and don't really have any present connection to marijuana, at all. I lived in a ski resort in Colorado for quite some time, on a long career break after running into some industry-downturn issues in my engineering field, and the subject came up there, but for a long time I've had no connection to it. It's not really relevant but I live in Bangkok now (just sharing), for the last 8 years, and I work in IT. I'm definitely not here to talk about that but I'm pretty open as people go so I could say more about here or Asia in general, or of course about tea.

Thanks in advance! Wonderfully interesting reading here, even though I don't grow or smoke.

Hi John!