Bagseed DIY cabinet grow - Wonderberry - fall '09

Here To Learn

Hi everyone I am starting a DIY cabinet grow. I have been acquiring parts for this project for the last two years. It has been almost ten years since I have grown on my own but have helped friends out with their grows from time to time during that period.

I have payed a total of about eighty dollars to date for my cabinet. The original shed was abandoned near my property. I am not finished with this cabinet by a long shot but am tired of waiting for the rest of the parts to be found through Freecycle and Craigslist I will be upgrading things along the way if possible and will try to post pictures often.

Cabinet: galvanized steel shed.

inner dimensions: 4'x2'x4' plus a small peaked ceiling.

Reflection: gloss white metal paint (note: Galvinized steel may be primed with vinegar in place of sandblasting).

Lighting: 250 watt Hydro Farm Metal Halide (MH) integral ballast fixture. ($50)
250_watt_MH_and_3_inch_fan.jpg

exhaust: 3 inch inline fan scavenged from a popped queen size aero bed. (Note: will be replaced with a four inch in line fan).
3_inch_fan_in_4_inch_hole.jpg

Many light leaks are still in need of patching. this will happen before flower.
Inside_the_box_10-31-09.jpg

I scarified three bagseeds and soaked them for 12 hours before placing them in my very damp soil on Oct 28th.

Soil: Black Gold organic potting soil mixed with 30 percent ACE compost

Pots: 3 gallon black plastic

I am currently keeping the pots under the MH at night and in the sunlight during the day while misting the soil multiple times per day

Today the first seed broke ground and shed its shell. The cotyledons are out and soaking up the light.
Pot_A_10-31-09.jpg

I will keep the plants in the same pots for the entire grow and have not decided if I am going to LST them or ScroG them yet but one or the other will happen. To keep height down I plan to veg for 3-4 weeks before flowering.