1st time grower having germinating problems!

Jenjen

Hello all, and thanks for any advice you offer. I posted this earlier today, but I think I posted it in the wrong place. Please forgive the duplication. I've been trying to germinate bagseed of undetermined origin and age. I'm no expert on seed quality but, judging by what I've read, they're not very healthy looking. I tried the water method (started 6/27/12) with no germ. I next tried the paper towel method (7/4/12) with no germ.

Then I tried the soil method (7/10/12) with no germination yet (some are in plain potting soil and others are in Vigoro Organics potting mix). All of them are in a seedstarting kit, I'm using distilled water, room temperature is 75-77F, no artificial lights. I probably overwatered them at first (being an over-anxious parent), but have cut back the watering.

Should I try something else with the bagseed? I bought some seeds from a highly-rated online supplier, but they haven't arrived yet (7 days and counting). I've read much of the information supplied here at 420 and appreciate the helpful spirit. Thanks for your advice!

I have tried all the methods, and direct in soil gives me the best results.

I like using these now, 32oz styrafoam cups with clear deli lids to keep the moisture in. I use the same soil I use for the big pots with a light dose of OC+ in there to sustain growth. You can grow a fairly big plant in a 32oz. before you need to transplant.

germing_5th_gro.jpg

Direct in the big pot you use is good also, but wastes time and space if you get a dud. If it sprouts, it never goes through the transplant shock and delayed growth. You put a clear plastic cup over the seed and it keeps it moist.

I have seeds 35 yrs old and I tried every method there is. I even contacted some of the seed breeder company support and tried what they suggested. No sprouts yet.

Jenjen