Attention: Hash Heads

UrbanGardner

Ok I need some help here. This is my first attempt in making hash. I started out with 24g of kief. I collected it over a few grows. It is pure trimmings screened through a 150 micron screen (Trim Tray). I used the Frenchy Cannoli method. The hash came out a little more green then I expected. The hash ball smells fantastic, sweet and kind of perfumey. Over all it looks good. Until I tried to smoke it. It was absolutely awful!!! I tried to go old school and smoke a chunk under glass. When I lit it it spewed black smoke and just fell apart. I put a chunk in a bong and almost puked. Granted it was 20min between when I rolled it out and smoked it. I smoked a lot of hash in my life. But this is trash!!

My question is does this hash need to age and dry out? What did I do wrong??

kief_pile.jpg
first_press.jpg
Hash_ball.jpg

How did you collect it? When you or push your stuff around the screen or shake it for too long a lot of plant material ends up getting mixed in. Looks like what you're dealing with. I can't help with what you've got now (I think you're stuck with leafy hash), but here's what I find makes the best hash with a screen:
Dry your trim out and throw it in the freezer for at least an hour. Freezer isn't necessary
Process it little by little. Just enough to make a thin layer over the screen. I prefer shaking over pushing it around.
Don't overdo it and keep an eye on what's falling through the screen. When it's frozen the good stuff falls off pretty quick.

It's a bit tedious if you've got a lot of trim, but I think it's worth it.

Added bonus: the leftover trim will probably still have enough goodies to make edibles or some sort of extraction.