Basically a newbie: help before I start my first grow?

SumoSan2323

420 Member
Hi! So, long story short, I'm new to growing (never done it before) and I'd like some recommendations for my grow setup! I plan on having a veg closet that's 2x6x6, and I basically have no idea how to set it up. My budget isn't tight, but I definitely can't afford top of the line equipment, so I guess I need some kind of middle ground priced lights, and ventilation for the veg closet. I plan on growing in soil, as it's the easiest and most forgiving of mistakes. I also plan on having a 5x5x6.5 flower room, and would like a little advice on that as well. I want to use LEDs, but am unsure of a decent priced LED. I've looked at lower end LEDs that cost 70-100$ and the big problem I seem to have with them is they definitely don't give off the wattage advertised. I think I settled on a bestva 1000w LED, I've read that they put out about 600w HID equivalent and pull about 200w from the wall. Is this accurate? And if it is, how many would I need for my flower tent? I'm also unsure of a good filtration system that won't break the bank. Do I just need one fan and filter to purify and pull the air out of the tent to outside? Would I need an additional fan and filter to purify air from a different room and pump it into the tent? Or is my 5x5 not big enough for all that to be necessary? Lastly, I plan on having a perpetual grow going, so after I get a mom going and clones whenever I need I would like to be harvesting once a month. What do I need to do for this to be possible? Would I need an additional 5x5 tent? Also, I know all of this takes time and patience, and I don't anticipate being able to be at the point where I can harvest once a month for a while but I want to know what steps I need to take to make that possible. Thank you for all your help!!! I appreciate any info I can get!

I plan on growing in soil, as it's the easiest and most forgiving of mistakes.