Do any vegetables grow like weed?

Kush Cough

Hey im a newbie trying to learn how to grow indoors. I just had an unsucessful grow in my cabinet where i burned my seedlings to death. I now want to perfect my growing cabinet before trying it again and losing more good seeds. So I was woundering if there is a vegetable that as a seedling would closley resembles marijuanas growing needs in regards to lighting and heat as that i can use for practice? any ideas

Basil! Normal basil I am Very Experienced with not lemon, purple, non of that I am skilled in just straight up.
Basil requires nutes identically (if scientifically possible) as Cannabis.
Basil thrives in same PH levels as Cannabis.
Basil flourishes in same light strengths (Lumen) as Cannabis.
Basil can be topped and FIM'ed as Cannabis.
Basil is great in pasta sauce,pesto,pizza topping AS CANNABIS.
dam-it now im hungry lol

rsz_1burn_victum.jpg
Here are some photos of my cabinet setup, In this first picture I have what I believe to be one of two little strawberry cough seedlings around 10 days old. They have been being burned either by heat, too much light, overwatering or some other noob mistake and are now on there way out. They have got a lot worse since I took this photo. I have just started using my nutes. I have Fox Farm Grow Big for my vegetative stage. I am only just starting to grow and my setup is an on going project. I have not bought my ph meter or thermometer yet and still have some reading up to do on PH meters. I am picking up more pieces for the grow as i read and learn from everyone here at 420. I have the seedlings growing in a peat based mix with perlite.
rsz_triple_light.jpg
In this second photo I have my new light setup. I changed from three 18 watt 23" T5's to these six fluorescents with 100 watts a piece.
setup111.jpg

Here in picture three you can see an overview of the whole setup and you can see that I mounted the three T5's on the cabinet side walls for side lighting.