Flaahgra's First Grow - Dinafem Blue Kush - Organic - Scrog - 250W HIDs

Flaahgra

I'll start with this intro post then get on with the journal

This is my first attempt at growing after doing research for over 4 years. I don’t pretend to know everything, but if I compare what I do know and my gear to grows my friends did in the past, I think I should get at least a decent results from this. Doing two Dinafem Blue Kush from seed.

My gear is :

SJ Darkstreet rev2.5| 2’x2’x5’
cheapo 250w mh 6500k (veg)/Hortilux 250w super hps (flower)
Lumatek 400 dimmed to 250
Vortex 4” 175cfm + odorX carbon filter
17.5”x6” cooltube
Fan control, Digital thermometer, timer for lights

Problems I've had with the setup are having only 2 straps for the fan and filter, so I made a ghetto tape strap in the middle. Could only get semirigid 6" ducting... had to squish it. Despite all these inelegant modifications, air still flows perfectly.

Being winter, I’m “fortunate” for having low temps; even with the fan on lowest speed, I can adjust it between 20-26C at around 2.5ft from the lights, though humidity is rather low at 29-35%. Night temps can get somewhat low too, around 15-17C, but that might be fine for this strain (see below). I'm exhausting straight into my room, but my intake is over a trap door leading to a cold room attached to this room so it draws in cool air (ballast is in that room and barely emits heat). The air from the exhaust is a lot cooler than the one from my house vents when the heat is on, I guess this Vortex is a good one.

Soil and nutes

For the 3.5" pots and 1 gals, I have a mix of about half Promix potting soil, a quarter each ewc and perlite, and some lime.

The organic mix is a big batch of the above with added Espoma Tomato Tone, Alfalfa and Kelp meals, plus some glacial rock dust, moistened and left to cycle until final transplant. I might add a thin layer of final mix to the bottom of the 1 gal pot to get it ready for the final pot.