Setting up my first grow - What I've learned, Power Use and Questions.

sativacat

Hello folks!
I am new to this hobby and have been really enjoying reading up on all the information on this and a couple of other forums. In the end I decided I was going to focus on one forum and try to share what I could on that (this) forum. First I want to thank you all that have shared your knowledge and experience making it possible for a newbie like myself to point and click their way into a first grow. The passion some of you show is infectious and I do believe I have become infected!

My goal is to grow for personal use. I forget where I read the following words though I have adopted them as part my mission statement. "No smell, no tell, no sell."

To this end I decided that a grow tent would be more than enough for my small self.
I have ended up with the following:

My Setup:
Lighthouse Hydro Tent 2.6'x2.6'x7'
topledgrowlight.com 96x3 LED Light
4" 190cfm inline fan
Variac AC/AC transfomer to drop fan voltage (reduced sound!)
18" carbon filter
3 clip fans from a national store you all know and love
Beans from Attitude
- Black Skull Seeds Five-o (Sativa)
- Pyramid Seeds Alpujarrena (Indica)
- Delicious Seeds Cheese Candy (Hybrid)
- World of Seeds Medical Collection Northern Lights x Big Bud (Indica)

What I have learned and I would like to do about it.
* Even with a very tall closet for my grow I probably could (should) have gone with a 5' tent. Time will tell how big my sativas get.
* The 190cfm fan is damn loud. A variac running at 50-60v makes it whisper quiet.
* The cheap chinese light is louder than expected and may not have enough light. Planning on replacing for budding.
* Impatience is a bitch. I keep checking on my little seeds to see if they have peeked their cute little green heads through the soil yet. I am glad I picked up 2 quick blooming strains for the first grow (The first two on the list above).