Advice on watering seedlings - Any advice appreciated

Tmac23

Hey newbie here I planted my seeds on Saturday in a 5 gal fabric pot they finally sprouted a couple days ago ... now that they have sprouted should I start watering the whole pot until water is pouring from the bottom? So far I have been soaking a napkin in water and squeezing the water out around the seedlings

Welcome Tmac!
First off, I've never sprouted seeds into 5 gal of soil. I like to up-pot in order to build a bigger root ball. It also makes this watering thing a little easier.
Assuming you have good high-porosity soil, I'd water the seedlings thoroughly, but not to the point of runoff this early. Now wait. Let the soil dry out some. With new babies you don't want them to wilt or be stressed. After they have grown for a couple of weeks, is when I start wet/dry cycles to get the roots really growing. The dripping napkin method sounds like too little and too much trouble. If your soil doesn't drain well, it might be appropriate.
5 gal is a lot of dirt for a little plant. It will spend a bunch of time and energy looking for the bottom. Don't expect a ton of growth up top right away. It will be busy building roots. YMMV. :goodluck:

Hi Tmac23

Welcome to 420 Magazine and the community of members that gathers here.

Not sure I can add much to Major PITA's response, but I am curious if you watered the container thoroughly when the seeds were planted? I ask as it may change the appropriate response. If five gallons of soil was thoroughly wet down only 5 days ago, I would not envision it being anywhere close to dry yet and it may not be necessary to water your seedlings at all.

Be well and happy growing!