A Nice HID Grow Light

DaMunchieMan

420 Member
Looking for 2 nice 600 or 1000 Watt HID Grow Lights. Looking to possibly run 2 HID in a 4x10x8 grow room instead of LED. I can get 2 HID lights for less than 1 LED grow light and still have money left over.

What is a good brand?

What do I look for in a HID?

What reflector is best? (I was looking at air-cooled)

Most of the magic is in the bulbs. I usually buy Hortilux. As for ballasts go digital and dimmable. I can’t really speak to brand names. I’ve been using some Lumatek ballasts for five or six years. Out of three, one broke a couple years ago and I replaced it with whatever no-name ballast my grow supplier had.

Most of the magic is in the bulbs. I usually buy Hortilux.

Eye Hortilux used to be by far and away the best high pressure sodium bulbs in the industry. Probably still are. Unfortunately, the company was well aware of that fact :rolleyes: . How much are they selling for these days?

Yeah.... :( The last two i bought were around $120 Canadian each for 600w. So about $10 a month per bulb which is pretty reasonable I guess. You can get cheap bulbs for less than half that but I’ve come to the conclusion that you get what you pay for.

Yeah I've been looking at the bulbs and the ballast and the reflectors and the Kits.

iPower seems to be the best bang for the buck.

SunStream seems to be the best overall.

I read that getting a 1000 watt setup sets you up for more light penetration and more grams per watt, however a 600-watt is more efficient.

So I face the Dilemma, going with 2 1000w HID, with 2 600 watt HID, or dishin out a little extra money and going with 2 Mars Hydro TS3000 or Spider Farmer SF4000. So about $1,000 if I go LED or $500 if I go HID.