How do i know if footprint is sufficient?

ottothief

:peace:I have a 8x8 room and want to have 6x6 footprint.I have a 1000 hps and a 400hps.Is there a way i can tell if the ladies are being properly covered.I am new at this so any tricks of the trade will not be forgotten.:thanks:

"properly" ... one side will have 1000 and one side 400? If you want even coverage you would have to move them.

With a 1000w hps you won't be having the lights very close to the plants. At least 24 inches away. So just turn the light on and see where the shadow from the hood hits and adjust accordingly. I use a 1000w hps with a vertizontal hood and that gives excellent coverage in my 8' X 8' grow. Just your 1000 should be enough for good light coverage. Its going to get hot though. So be sure and allow for lots of ventilation or an air conditioner.

As weed mentioned just forget about your 400 watt and use the 1000 watt. You should get very nice coverage with a 1000watt on a 6 by 6.

I'm in the second week of flower and i don't feel like the light is penetrating to the lower nodes .Maybe i just need to be more patient.I'm about 18 inches above the canopy with both lights.Maybe on the 21 st day i should just defoliate more of the lower possible popcorn bud and then it wouldn't bug me so bad wondering about the light penetration.

IS BONSAI LIKE LOLIPOPPING?:thumb:

Yeah same thing. I just like the word Bonsai more since my grow is all ninja style and if people come to steal my plants I got a samurai sword present for them :D.

Hang the 400w vertical just above the canopy rocking a ceramic metal halide :) Have the 1000w overhead with HPS :)

I agree with using all the light you can

more light = more bud.