Just made a complete rookie mistake and need advice!

guy4

Hi,

I am new to this so I probably am posting in the wrong place if so please tell me.

What I need help on is a big mistake I made in haste to grow. I have bought a small tent and a Diamond Series DS200 veg - flower light which all seem to be great. The problem is my wife has requested me to use soil instead of hydro as my hydro has overflowed a couple of times and is very heavy to move 5 gal of nut solution when changed. Not a problem I thought but when I bought soil all I could get at the time was Miracle Grow potting soil,not in the least what I wanted but after several people getting busted after visiting a hydro store for no reason I felt I had to go to a reg hardware store.

Anyway I completely forgot to check the water coming into the house as we have moved. After watering I checked the PH and found out it was very acidic between 4 and 5 on my soil meter. I have some very concentrated PH up and down which I used the PH up but didn't know how much I needed as the soil was wet already. As it turned out I over did it and brought up the PH to almost 6 in one application. I checked again this morning and it went down to 5.5 so how should I more gently bring it to normal? I don't know if my seeds have been ruined or not and of course they cost a lot so I will wait and see. I do need to know what to do as the soil is too wet already.

The seeds were soaked in tap water over night so I may have messed them up just doing that.

Any help much appreciated. These are auto seeds if that matters.

This will teach me a lesson on being cheep and not buying distilled water, and checking everything before taking seeds out of the package.

With my PH up being very strong I don't have a clue as to what it should be to move the PH of soil. To give an idea of how strong it is, 2 drops in a quart of water pegs my meter. For hydro this is good as it takes a very small amount for changes in larger nute solutions.

Thanks,