PaoniaPurp's El-Cheapo Grow Closet - Soil - Bag Seed & Clone Under DIY LED

Paonia Purple

When Colorado voters decided to make it legal for anyone to grow their own six cannabis plants, I decided it was high time to come out of the closet and build a grow setup in a closet. :D

I’m an electronic hobbyist and have been making LED lamps for some time. I found a good deal on some red and blue 100 watt LED modules, so I purchased one of each and a pair of power supply modules. Combined with a hefty heat sink and a push/pull cooling fan, they make plenty of light. My light meter shows that at about eight inches, the light is as bright as noonday November sun outside.

My grow closet is just about one square meter floor space, and just under two meters high. I plan to keep the plants bent for extra bud sites, so this should be tall enough. I framed in a corner of my shop, insulated with plastic film, fiberglass, and foil backed foam, and roofed that section with transparent polycarbonate greenhouse roofing.
There’s a sun shade/ heat retaining slat shutter just below the ceiling. This keeps the heat loss at night acceptable, and may help keep summer temperatures down.
On the south wall is a heat sink under a small work counter. The heat sink is stacked cinder blocks with water bottles in the cavities for extra thermal mass. During cooling operations, (when the inside temperature rises above 75*F), hot air is pulled down through the heat sink and out into the shop, while cool make up air enters from the north side floor.
The electric space heater (low temperature type) is set to start heating at about 65 degrees. A max/min thermometer next to the plant keeps track of temperature swings. The performance so far has been encouraging, with a maximum registered temperature of 80, and a minimum of 60.