PH in Fox Farm soil

Hi guys I am a first-time grower and I am getting ready to use Fox Farms Happy Frog. Would it be okay to use spring water from a bottle or distilled ? My other question is using the cheap prong meters are they accurate at testing the pH of the soil
Hi Christopher and Welcome. The consensus is the cheap ones don't work. I've never used that soil before. If you can't use your tap water then I'd use the bottled first. Second I'd go with the distilled. If you use distilled you'll need more cal mag as there's no minerals in it they need.

Hi guys I am a first-time grower and I am getting ready to use Fox Farms Happy Frog. Would it be okay to use spring water from a bottle or distilled ? My other question is using the cheap prong meters are they accurate at testing the pH of the soil

Hey @Christopher Bennett , welcome to this awesome community!

We can definitely help you out with your all your questions.

Fox Farms Happy Frog (FF HF) is an excellent choice in soil. Its pH starts around 6.8 and has dolomite lime added to help with the pH soil drift.

Using the cheap prong meters are not very accurate at testing the pH of the soil. If we ever want to know the pH of the soil, we will do a proper "soil slurry pH test".

We typically do not track the pH of the soil, because it has the innate ability to buffer the pH naturally.

We typically do track the pH and TDS of of our water/feed going into the soil and like to keep our water/feed in the 6.5 to 6.7 range.

Do you have a pH pen and a TDS pen yet?

Its a good idea to track the EC of your feeds as well.

Depending on the quality of your water (pH & TDS), you can just use tap water or well water.

pHChartForSoil.JPG

Please let us know more about your grow so we can help you to be successful!