Please help

ecstaticfrog

420 Member
Hi all,
This is my first time posting,and would really like some help.
After a heavy rain a part of the main stalk got brown and a couple of lower branches died.
Is this root rot?

Attachments

• 20180902_103843.jpg
    20180902_103843.jpg
    916.5 KB · Views: 153
  • 20180902_103839.jpg
    20180902_103839.jpg
    1,009 KB · Views: 165
Morning and welcome to the 420 family.

Easiest way to identify root rot is by scratching the surface of soil gently (I use my fingers), until you start to notice some surface roots. You are looking for healthy, white, firm roots, with white root hairs. If roots are browning and soil is “mushy”, you may be experiencing some rot. Grab a handful of soil and close your hand firmly. If the soil stays in a clumped up ball when you open your hand, you are not getting enough drainage in soil.

Picture of entire plant would be more helpful, browning stalks are normal on my plants, but I grow monster bushes, and I attribute this (on my plants) to lack of sunlight penetrating through the plant. If the stalk is slimy to the touch in brown section of stalk, could be slugs as well. I get this a lot on lower section of stalk.

In my opinion, from what you are describing, you are experiencing a disease called brown stem rot, which is more likely to affect plants in the later reproductive stage. Discoloration starts at the bottom and moves upward.

As far as lower branches browning and dying, one could write a book on variables (soil type, nutes, sunlight exc...)contributing to this. Need to see the entire picture to identify why this is happening.

******Easiest way to eliminate root and brown stem rot is growing in fabric pots. The fabric promotes air pruning of the roots, preventing rot. I have yet to hear of anyone experiencing root rot in a fabric pot.

I will update post later with pics of similar color browning stalks on my plants from previous grows for comparison. Have to dig them up.