RO water and buffering

H20gro

Ok, chemistry came along in high school about the same time as cannabis for me. So i chose the more hands on, experimental branch of the science, ie, smoked weed and didnt pay attention in class so please help me understand how to get ro water “stable”, especially regarding ph.

Ive been told to mix it with tap water and/or to use both ph up and ph down (buffer?).

As it is now, my dwc plant in week 8 of flower seems to have water ph dropping unless i add tap or ph up…. Even then it seems to slowly drop. Ideally it would rise as nutes are used i thought.

Anyway, help understanding this and ideas to approach ph “stability” w ro water would be greatly appreciated.

I am new to ro water and still learning..

Tia

@bluter @Delps8 @Bill284 @OGpapa

You shouldn't try to set ro water at a certain ph. Instead you should adjust to your target ph after you added your nutrients to your ro water. If you are cultivating in DWC then you will be adjusting your ph frequently because the plant is changing it by feeding and drinking from your mix. If you are going to grow with dwc, I would recommend rdwc. You should be able to keep your ph more stable.

don't mix RO and tap. recipe for crap.

just like @BAKIND described. start with RO, add nutes, then ph. RO stays extremely stable while you feed after you ph. don't worry about it after feeding, the ph at the time you feed is the only important ph there is.

Might be helpful. I'm a soil guy. There are lots with better information. But here is a guide I would find handy

PH-EC_Chart1.jpg

Im noticing that w straight ro, after i add nutes the ph is right at 6. Should i bot “buffer” w anything? Despite the gradual drops in ph?

oops forgot you were dwc. you do need to monitor ph in dwc for the reasons outlined in the chart. ph to 5.8 every time when you swap out the res. monitor and adjust between.

edit : you should be tracking your ec as well between.