Trimming & cloning

Enjoying

This is my first time posting pictures with a question so I am hoping they post in the order I upload them so my question is clear.

In this first picture the leaf that is closest to the camera is a fan leaf, the leaf that is directly to the left and is the most shaded on the entire plant is the diagonal growth that comes between nodes, diectly across from that is the diagonal growth again. From there I assume you see what is what.

My question here is, can I use that diagonal growth for clones? I assume I could always use a top from a topped plant to do this but I planted this plant so late that I don't want to top it as it will put me even more behind than I am righ now. Will cutting the diagonal growth slow growth down? I started the plants like 3 - 4 months late LOL.

Another question is, when it comes to trimming should I keep that diagonal growth cut back or should I keep it as it will grow buds? I assume it will be what is referred to as larf or popcorn buds. I am unsure if I want larf but I think I may be open to popcorn buds as I can add them to the trim or roll joints with them. I am not completely sure if there is a difference between the two - larf and popcorn buds.

I am really liking how this plant is looking. I wish I could make it a mother plant but I don't have the setup for that right now, hopefully in the future. I have an idea for a small cabinet for mothers and clones. I really need to transplant it but I am afraid it will slow the growth longer than I want BUT the pot it is in is like 1 - 2 gallons. I would like to put it in a 5, thatis the biggest I have. I feel a transplant would lead to a larger yeild vs leavng it in this small pot.