First Ever Grow - Auto Polar Express - Hydro - 600W HPS

MrKipling

Hi. Thought id share my first ever grow.

On day 29 now, been a bit of a disaster at times.

Actually know very little about weed, and haven't smoked too much, the odd weekend trip to Amsterdam with EasyJet ha. Then started to help some local nuns run their food bank. Id come back with boxes of Cornflakes and some weed.
It was great for my panic, don't really leave the house much. Decided its time to do a grow myself.

Basically I'm trying to say forgive me if my plants look bad, I really am a total noob.

So..the equipment I got..
Digital Ballast with 600w HPS bulb
2 Hydro pots
Fans, humidifier, PH and EC meters, hydro plant food and PH up n down

Mistake made so far...
1. Make sure you have the equipment before doing anything ha.
I put the seedlings under a normal bulb. They sprouted ok, was all quite excited. Got ready to transfer them to my hydro pots. Which was when I realised the hydro pots came with the pots but no pump or air stone in them. Sent back to Amazon. Wait for refund and new one. By now the little plants were getting very long and stringy, trying to reach for the silly low watt house bulb. They started to fall over, got them propped up with a stick.

When the new buckets arrived , transferred them ok. And went to now set up my HPS light.
Was then I realised this is no normal light ha. Read more and discovered I need a ballast thingummy. And a metal hood thing to screw it into. Poor little plants now sitting in their hydro pots with my bedside lamps hanging above them.

Ballast arrived from Amazon with the metal hood thing. Switched on, worked fine, went for some kip. Woke up. Ballast had died. Ballast back to Amazon, fortunately they sent a new one out straight away. New one has been going fine now.

The poor little plants were not in a great way so thin and tall.