LED expert question

Mike Wright

420 Support
420 Staff
My new QB style light has a Meanwell ELG-240-48A driver, which has both voltage and wattage adjustment potentiometers. There are conflicting reports about how to dim the lights. Some say use the Vo pot and some say the Io. Originally, the vendor sent me instructions to use the Io. But my Io is stuck. So then they sent me instructions to use the Vo instead.

I'm no electrician, but I'm sure that there must be a right way to do this, in terms of producing the best light, most efficiency, etc. Can someone shed the light of their knowledge on this?

My new QB style light has a Meanwell ELG-240-48A driver, which has both voltage and wattage adjustment potentiometers. There are conflicting reports about how to dim the lights. Some say use the Vo pot and some say the Io. Originally, the vendor sent me instructions to use the Io. But my Io is stuck. So then they sent me instructions to use the Vo instead.

I'm no electrician, but I'm sure that there must be a right way to do this, in terms of producing the best light, most efficiency, etc. Can someone shed the light of their knowledge on this?

are you wired series or parallel ?

Io dimming is straight dimming of the current alone with proportional dimming of the light as a result. generally more appropriate in series set ups.

Vo is not normally used for dimming. it is mainly for setting up the driver. it prevents damage to the led or cobs in parallel set ups, in the event one or more of the emitters fail. it avoids an over draw / over heat / fire scenario.