Mr.Sniffle's Hydro JillyBean Grow Journal

MisterSniffle

Hello everyone! I'm a brand new medical cannabis patient is this is my very first cannabis grow. I'm also brand new to 420 Magazine, so hello again! I have many years' experience with hydroponic growing. Mostly growing/breeding and eating delicious peppers, so I'm hopeful that my first medicinal grow goes well!

Wish me luck, please!

The essentials:

Four Plants (started from seed- Fingers crossed for maximum females!)
Genetics: JillyBean seeds from TGA Subcool Seeds
Method: Hydroponics - Deep Water Culture
Container: DIY - Rubbermaid 10 gallon Roughneck
Medium: Rockwool/Hydroton
Nutrients: TechnaFlora BC Grow/Bloom (And the rest of Recipe For Success)
Supplements: Hygrozyme, Superthrive, Liquid Karma, Silica Blast
Lighting: NEXTGEN 400/600 watt switchable digital ballast (Configured for 400 watt MH then HPS)

First things first, let's have a look at these here seeds:

JillyBean seeds in their breeder pack - from TGA Subcool Seeds

With the cardboard flap removed, I found the seeds in a little glass vial inside of a plastic bag. Nice crush protection!

Time to germinate! I'm germinating the seeds in rockwool cubes (1x1x1.5 inches) so the first job is to soak the rockwool cubes in my rockwool soaking solution:

16 ounces distilled water
1 DROP superthrive
1 mL Technaflora Root 66
1 mL Technaflora Thrive Alive B-1 Red

I mixed up the solution and pH adjusted it to 5.7. The cubes go in. In this case, I soaked them for 24 hours.

After 24 hours of soaking, pH drifted to about ~6.3, still in a good range.

I also soak my seeds prior to germinating. I soak them for 12 hours in my germination solution:

8 ounces distilled water
1 DROP superthrive
2 DROPS Technaflora Thrive Alive B-1 Red

The glass containing the seeds and soaking solution lives on a heat mat set to keep the temperature around 76 degrees F.

Seeds soak in germination solution for 12 hours