First Grow - Soil - Lemon Kush - Power Flower

tiger87

Welcome to my grow journal.

Moved to a new city (no medical shops) and decided that growing a couple plants would be more fun than finding somewhere to get the end product. This is my first time growing so any tips/pointers are welcome and greatly appreciated.

Some Details:
strain #1: Lemon Kush feminized (indica sativa blend)
strain #2: Royal Queen Power Flower feminzed (indica sativa blend)
Indoor grow
soil: 50/50 happy-frog/FFOF
final pot size: 3 gal (currently in solo cups)
Box Temperature kept between 70-80F
RH: ~50%
veg on 18/6 for 7-8 weeks (planned)
flower on 12/12 for 8-9 weeks (planned)

Grow Box, yes I know it's not ideal but it is what I could afford to put together (still getting some of the details worked out):
Grand Wardrobe box - 2x2x4 ft
mylar lined walls
2 x 135W LED light sets (do I need more light? - definitely not going with MH or HPS)
4 inch home-made exhaust system
two 4x4 in passive intake covered with air-filter material

Start Date (Day 1): Wed Jan 22, 2014
Seeds were placed between wet paper-towels for ~18 hours then transferred to soil. I wasn't sure how wet to make the paper-towels so I figured I would just plant them the same way I have panted every other thing I have ever grown (mostly mint and basil). I kept the soil damp, and provided no light until day 4 or so. Since then light has been on 18/6.

Today (Day 7): Wed Jan 29, 2014
Both have broken through the soil, but neither have fully shed their shells. The Lemon Kush is a bit taller and maybe a day or so ahead of the Power-Flower. Pretty psyched both seem to have taken to the soil well.

Will get some pictures up soon.

Day 8:
Lemon Kush is looking good with a couple little leaves starting to grow.

Power Flower is still trying to shed her seed shell.

here are some pictures as promised.
Lemon Kush

Power Flower

box (sorry for the sideways ones)

Day 9:
Lemon Kush: growing like a champ