Best way for water runoff for indoor grow?

DarionOzb

20191106_120240.jpg

Hi Guys Im a new grower and Ive recently been concerned about the bottom of my pots holding my cannabis plants. I dont have water trays under them, because in the youtube videos i watched when i was first starting out, didnt tell me i needed them.
But anyways Ive recently just been thinking it may be bad that the bottom of the pots are just sitting in technically "old" water and nutes?
I've been growing them for about 2 months now, and everything seems to be okay. But I am about to send them into Flower on December 1st, so I just wanted to know if I should do something about my them just sitting on the "floor" of then tent in "old" water and nutes?
Also since its been 2 months that theyve been in those pots, should i do a flush or something before I do my last week feed before switching my schedule to 12/12?
Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

You can get some trays and pot risers that fit in them on Amazon or somewhere on the net. It gives you somewhere for the excess water to go and easier for clean up.

As far as "flushing". I don't do a full blown flush where you run 3x the pot volume of water through them, but I do what I call a "rinse and reset". Run about half the pots volume of water through them. So for example, a 5 gallon pot, run about 2.5 gallons of regular water at them. Three gallon pot, 1.5 gallons. You get the drift. Then do a gallon of your regular strength nutes. That should be sufficient to rinse out any unused nute build up and reset your media. I find it easiest to transport each plant to the bathtub to accomplish this since you'll have significant runoff. Wait 5 to 10 minutes afterwards for the excess water to drain then take them back to your grow space. They'll be quite wet when you're done and probably won't need watered for several days or up to a week if you're in a peat based mix or soil.