Newbie here, looking for seasoned advice

Blimpsious

Hi all. This forum seems to have a vast array of knowledge, and I've just started dipping my toes into it. As my post says I'm a noob, and this season will be my first grow. Only a few plants, I'll be starting from seeds indoors and then taking outdoors. By the fall I should have everything ready (with this forums assistance) to do a small indoor setup. I'm curious if anyone can help me get some of the essentials lines up. I have just started and so far I've lined up a TDS and PH meter (I've read here using seperate is better), a bag of MyCo, some 5.5 inch pots with drain holes, some starter 3 inch pods, an eyedropper, and a really decent LED light on loan from a buddy. The LED light is roughly 2 feet wide and I was going to use this until the plants are moved outdoors. On one of the forum threads I read using 2 gallon dollar store garbage cans is a great idea. I was going to use buckets but I'm a sponge so anything experienced growers will recommend I'm all in for. I know to drill holes for drainage and I'm starting to read up on PH, seems overwhelming but I'll pick at it. I really could just use some advice on the soil I should buy and other must haves. Technique advice is also appreciated, since all I've really read up on so far is basic germination. I made sure to buy good CK seeds, just a 5 pack of Purple Dream and a 5 pack of Rainbow Haze.

Again, thank you all for your time and any assistance you can offer. I look forward to using this forum and all it has to offer noobs like myself.