1st Time Grow - Flowergirl21's - White Widow - Bloombox - Hydro - Manifold Technique

Re: 1st Time Grow - Flowergirl21's - White Widow - Bloombox - Hydro - Manifold Techni

Day 52 of Flower

Well. I have not given up yet! I haven't been journaling because I have been figuring out and fighting all of the various things hitting Scarlett all at once.

Drain Flies

Although they are supposedly not hurting the plant...they are a nuisance at best, and they are/were breeding at the root level and in the rockwool (I think); which leads me to believe that they might have been harming the plant. My sticky traps revealed it was out of control (which I knew), and on top of all of this, I had a few fungus gnats flying about as well.

I am now an expert on cleaning Bloombox reservoirs. That is all I've been doing. That and spending money that I don't have on products to help battle my next issue.

Pythium

I thought I had it. I might have had it. I still could have it. My roots had always been a tan color because of the Plantacillin--which is supposed to prevent/fight the pythium. My reservoir never smelled bad. It always smelled pleasant--like growing things. The root mass, however, wasn't doing well anymore, and if I went a day without maintaining them, I would have hundreds of pupae from the drain flies caught up in them...well, pupae "shells" as they had molted and were flying around.

At one point in time at the beginning of this mess, I had done a reservoir change, and had treated with SOS but not Plantacillin. The next day, I had beautiful new roots coming out. Scarlett was smelling better, and she had started taking up nutes again, according to my readings.

The next reservoir change, I added the Plantacillin back into the mix, since I figured that it was compatible with the SOS, and why not add more beneficials to the party.

No.